Thursday, 28 September 2017

Book Review ~ The #Roanoke Girls ~ Amy Engel - A compelling read

TITLE - The Roanoke Girls

AUTHOR - Amy Engel

PUBLISHER - @Hodder Books

PAGES - 290

BUY LINKAmazon UK

SYNOPSIS

Everyone wants to be a Roanoke girl. But you won't when you know the truth...

The Richard and Judy Book Club pick 2017 and the darkly compulsive thriller that will keep you reading late into the night. Perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and The Girls.

'Utterly gripping' - RICHARD AND JUDY
'A must-have' - SUNDAY EXPRESS
'I loved it' - SARAH HILARY

'Roanoke girls never last long around here. In the end, we either run or we die.'


The girls of the Roanoke family - beautiful, rich, mysterious - seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them that's never spoken.

Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back.

She is a Roanoke girl.

Is she strong enough to escape a second time?

***


I was really looking forward to reading this. Everyone was talking about it on social media, and I'd seen it in the press, as it was a Richard and Judy Book Club Pick for 2017. Thanks to Anne Cater, fellow blogger at Random Things Through My Letterbox, she gave me her copy. 

My Mum had started reading it but found it wasn't her cup of tea, so it was then my turn. It was a great holiday read and I couldn't put it down. I wanted to read it at every spare moment we had.

I loved how the Author had separated each chapter into Then and Now as it made it easy to follow. I also liked how there was a chapter dedicated to each of the Roanoke Girls, so you got to know them and their story. As there were a lot of characters in the book to get to know, this made it a lot less complicated

Initially I wasn't sure what the subject matter was going to be as it Although you could see fairly early on, loosely where this story was going, it didn't prepare you for what was to come. It's a heartbreaking and disturbing story but completely plausible. It handles a very sensitive subject and the Author had written about the matter with great feeling.

 The Author has also done a really good job with the characterisations and there were a variety of personalities. Strong characters, weak characters and many interesting characters. Some you came to love, some you came to hate, and some you came to really despise. 

I haven't read a book in a long time that moved me as much as this one, and I feel that this will stay with me for a long time. 

Thanks again to Anne Cater for letting me have her copy. 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Amy Engel is the author of THE BOOK OF IVY young adult series. A former criminal defense attorney, she lives in Missouri with her family. THE ROANOKE GIRLS is her first novel for adults.

Contact Amy Engel on Social Media.

Twitter
Facebook
Website